Enclosed within a brick boundary, the mausoleum is part of a complex containing an identical mosque and a ruined brick structure with a sloping roof that served, perhaps, as a gateway or the kitchen. Khan Jahan lived a religious life here from his retirement to his death on 25th October 1459.
Overlooking the beautiful Thakur Dighi (lake), the complex stands on a high embankment made from the excavation material of the Dighi. The square artificial lake was construction by Khan Jahan and has a broad, steep flight of steps leading up to the embankment.
The mausoleum is the best preserved of the three structures. It is a 45' square brick structure which rest on a base of five courses of dressed stone. An unpublished manuscript dated 1866 describes the interior of the mausoleum. According to the account given the floor was covered with hexagonal encaustic tiles of various patterns, predominantly in blue, white and yellow. The tomb itself was of black stone and raised on three steps of the same material. It is covered with beautifully carved verses from the Koran in Arabic and Persian. Today the encaustic tiles no longer exist but a number of them can be found set in the three steps around the tomb itself.
Like most Muslim mausoleums, the actual grave is in a crypt under the building. The walls of the crypt are covered with inscriptions that may contain historical information regarding Ulugh Khan Jahan's life.
Sanday, John. 1983.Bangladesh: Building Conservation and Repair. Paris: UNESCO.
Ahmed, Nazimuddin. 1984. Discover the Monuments of Bangladesh. Dacca: Fine Arts Press, 137.